Buemi claims historic Monaco ePrix win

Buemi Second Win Monaco ePrix FormulaE FormulaENews Formula E News FormulaFuture Future

Sebastien Buemi has become Formula E’s first-ever double winner, adding a victory in the Monaco ePrix to his previous triumph in Punta del Este.

It was a historic achievement for the e.dams-Renault driver, as the Monaco ePrix was also Europe’s very first fully-electric single-seater race.

An eventful qualifying session saw Buemi claim pole position ahead of championship leader Lucas di Grassi, with Jerome D’Ambrosio and Long Beach ePrix winner Nelson Piquet Jr filling the second row of the grid.

Once the race got underway, not even half a lap was completed before an eruption of vehicular carnage engulfed the Mediterranean street circuit.

While the race leaders escaped unscathed, Daniel Abt ran wide at Sainte Devote and triggered an epic pile-up involving Jean-Eric Vergne, Bruno Senna, Salvador Duran, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Loic Duval.

Following a four-lap safety car period, Buemi resumed the race in the lead, with di Grassi, D’Ambrosio, Piquet, Sarrazin, Prost and Bird in hot pursuit.

 Not even half a lap was completed before vehicular carnage engulfed the Mediterranean street circuit

Di Grassi proceeded to hound Buemi, but was unable to pass him, despite attempting a different pit strategy. Meanwhile, D’Ambrosio’s podium hopes were dashed after Piquet used his FanBoost to execute a daring overtake at Turn 3 to claim third place.

As Buemi pulled away after the pit stops, the second-placed di Grassi fell back into Piquet’s clutches. However, the Long Beach ePrix winner was unable to overtake the Audi Sport ABT car, eventually leaving himself open to an attack from Sam Bird in the closing stages of the race.

As a result, di Grassi extended his championship lead from a single point to three.

After the leading quartet crossed the finishing line, D’Ambrosio, Prost, Sarrazin, Pic, Felix da Costa and Heidfeld claimed the remaining available championship points.

Meanwhile, Jean-Eric Vergne, who failed to finish the race, was also awarded two points for setting the race’s fastest lap.

“I had a good fight with di Grassi when we changed the car, but we were really, really on the limit”, Buemi explained after claiming his second Formula E victory.

“To win in Monaco is a great feeling.”


Driver Team Gap
01 Sébastien Buemi e.dams-Renault
02 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT +2.154s
03 Nelson Piquet NEXTEV TCR +4.634s
04 Sam Bird Virgin Racing +4.801s
05 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing +5.881s
06 Nicolas Prost e.dams-Renault +11.032s
07 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi +26.472s
08 Scott Speed * Andretti +41.138s
09 Charles Pic NEXTEV TCR +49.538s
10 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri +52.658s
11 Nick Heidfeld Venturi +52.936s
12 Jarno Trulli Trulli +58.984s
13 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing +1 lap
14 Vitantonio Liuzzi Trulli DNF
15 Jean-Eric Vergne Andretti DNF
16 Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri DNF
17 Loic Duval Dragon Racing DNF
18 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT DNF
19 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing DNF
20 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing DNF

*Scott Speed received a post-race 33-second time penalty for exceeding maximum power usage


Driver Team Points
01 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 93
02 Nelson Piquet NEXTEV TCR 89
03 Sébastien Buemi e.dams Renault 83
04 Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault 77
05 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 64
06 Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 52
07 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri 45
08 Jean-Eric Vergne Andretti 34
09 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing 30
10 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 28
11 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 22
12 Scott Speed Andretti 18
13 Franck Montagny Andretti 18
14 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 18
15 Oriol Servià Dragon Racing 16
16 Charles Pic NEXTEV TCR 16
17 Jarno Trulli Trulli 12
18 Stéphane Sarrazin Venturi 10
19 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 8
20 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 6
21 Takuma Sato Amlin Aguri 2
22 Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri 1
23 Ho-Pin Tung NEXTEV TCR 0
24 Antonio Garcia NEXTEV TCR 0
25 Michela Cerruti Trulli 0
26 Marco Andretti Andretti 0
27 Vitantonio Liuzzi Trulli 0
28 Matthew Brabham Andretti 0
29 Katherine Legge Amlin Aguri 0

Image credit: FIA Formula E

Be the first to comment on "Buemi claims historic Monaco ePrix win"

Leave a Reply